To Hell With Fashion Trends

Marketers suck us in by making us think we are never good enough. Whatever we have is not the beautiful of the moment. We should buy jeans that don’t make our butt look good but they are in fashion. We should buy big purses for outrageous prices to get attention from our friends. Redecorate yourself in something new every year because what you have isn’t good enough. You aren’t good enough but you deserve the best things money can buy. Your life will be better if you just have one more thing that’s in fashion. Where did your authentic self go? When was the last time you wore something because you loved it but it wasn’t “in”? When was the last time you felt comfortable in your own skin?
Now is the time to say to hell with fashion trends and think about what makes you feel beautiful.
I saw an older woman at the grocery store the other day. She had on jeans that fit her well but weren’t the current style. She wore a crisp white blouse that is classic and never goes out of style. A simple belt with classic boots topped off her outfit. She looked FABULOUS! She was put together, ready for anything, and simply beautiful. The lesson here is that you don’t have to get complicated to look great. Be who you are and let natural beauty shine.

I recently cut my hair short again. It’s not the popular choice to do. I didn’t want any complicated beauty regimen. Short works for me. I get out of the shower, towel dry my hair, put a bit of gel in it and go. I gave away the hair dryer, curlers, and numerous products that cluttered my bathroom cabinet and never made me feel happy. It’s not the choice of everyone but its my choice and it suits me. It makes me think more about being at a healthy weight instead of hiding behind hair. It allows me more time to spend with my family and doing the things I love instead of standing in front of a mirror every day hoping I don’t have a bad hair day.

I choose not to wear high heels anymore. My back objects and I don’t feel that the pain it inflicts on me is worth the attention I might gain. I am also 5 foot 10 and tall enough already to make a statement. I’m also okay with going unnoticed. At 45 I am beyond the need to make an entrance or to make an impression on the opposite sex. I am happily married and my husband is quite happy with who I am. That is all the attention I need.

Once again I have reduced my wardrobe. I wish I could be like the guy that travels with his backpack, two pairs of jeans, two shirts, his computer, and his phone. That’s not exactly realistic in my current life. I have made some changes that I like and have reduced my wardrobe down to the basics that I absolutely love. I love wearing black. My Mother taught me that black is classy and hides flaws. I chose black for my base neutral color. The combination that I have fallen in love with for work is bright top, black pants, and pearls. It’s simple and it works with my life. When it’s cooler I throw a sweater over the top and go. Black pants can go from work to dinner and never look wrong. When I decided to embrace Romantic Minimalism I fell in love with the idea of wearing only those things that I really love. No exceptions. I stopped buying jewelry and just wear my pearl earrings. They have always been my favorite accessory.

Finding your authentic self starts with not exposing yourself to marketing. Stop shopping for recreation or therapy for your woes. Buy only what you need. What you need should also be something you love that will last. Determining what works for you as an individual is something that only you can discover but oh it feels good to be yourself.

Categories: Home, Soul | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

